Awww shucks…

Every time I log into my WordPress account I stalk my stats page. I know I can’t be the only one who does this so I don’t feel like I’m making some soul bearing confession or anything, really just putting it out there to get to a larger point.  It blows my mind every time I find out that ANYONE is reading this here blog.  Your comments and likes are near as good as getting $5 from Grandma in a Valentine’s Day card.  I’m stunned to know you’re reading and gobsmacked that you like it enough to actually say something about it! So I’m sure you’ll understand my surprise when this arrived in my inbox this weekend :

I owe a huge thank you to CaityRose at All She Wants To Do Is… for the shout out! Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy reading my little corner of the bloggosphere and thank you so much for telling others about it! Now I can stat-stalk myself even more! And for real folks, if you knit, you HAVE to read this post from CaityRose. Total crack up!

Now, I must attend to the business end of my award. The rules go like this:

When you consider nominating a fellow blogger for the Versatile Blogger Award, consider the quality of the writing, the uniqueness of the subjects covered, the level of love displayed in the words on the virtual page. Or, of course, the quality of the photographs and the level of love displayed in the taking of them.

Honor those bloggers who bring something special to your life whether every day or only now and then.

I checked on the Versatile Blogger Web site and here are the rules:

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.

  •  Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  •  Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
  •  Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
  •  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  •  Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

I have officially covered items 1 and 2, so now for the fun.  Other folks I love to read and think you should check out, too:
When Did I Become a Knitter Keri is single handedly responsible for a huge increase in my Ravelry queue and membership in the Kick Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club. My credit card doesn’t thank her nearly so much as I do but it’s all good
Felt So Cute a crafting mommy’s adventures in Tokyo. Love the writing, love the photos, love the stroll down memory lane from my own time in Tokyo. Oh to have done so on a real budget instead of that of a broke college student who felt guilty spending that much of her parent’s money
Pretty In Black  Food and knitting? What more does a girl need?
Knitted Notes While I”m not sure I’m a vintage knitting kind of girl, I love the eye candy that is the loveliness of this blog!
The Sweaty  Knitter A relatively new find but I LOVE her blog. And I love that she responds to her comments. Cuz that’s just fun! *Note to Self. Self. Do this.*
Liver Chick Knits  This is one of the first blogs I started following. Love the sense of humor and the eye candy in the pictures!
Keeps Me Out of Mischief A voice from across the pond, lots of fun craft ideas, food ideas, etc.
Robknits Knitting. Spinning. Travel Pictures. Again, what’s not to love?
Crayons and Milk Funny Mondays. ’nuff said.
Domestic Diva, MD  I’ve lived through some of these same moments. The ones I haven’t make me glad I haven’t and are darn funny. And there’s FOOD. Nom nom nom
Admittedly, I’m out of blogs I regularly follow…  Can’t help it. There is only so much time in the day and with the pesky work and sleep things figured in, I’ve been forced to chose between knitting or reading about knitting. Lately knitting wins more often than not (hence the rather large lapses of time between my own posts lately… Sorry. I have a bunch of ideas rattling around in my brainz for this week. We’ll see how many successfully fall out of my head and onto these pages). But I happen to love all 10 of the folks listed above and hope you check them out and love them, too!
Now for my last bit of social responsibility 7 things about me you may wish you never knew…
  1. Today I am doing a stellar Donna Reed impression. Cute little black dress, cardigan, peep toe pumps, pearls. All I need is a vacuum and a cocktail (for Ward, of course). The impression ends at appearances. I clearly put on my sarcasti-panties this morning. Do not mess with the girl who regularly carries pointy sticks
  2. I love air shows. We went to our first of the season yesterday. The sound of an F-22 Raptor makes me positively weak in the knees. The F/A 18 is a close second. I got to see an F/A 18 yesterday. I love living in a place where hearing that noise is a good thing. I can’t imagine the horror of living somewhere where that noise means your world is about to explode. Literally.
  3. I eat breakfast every day. I do not, necessarily, eat breakfast food for breakfast. Smart Ones Chicken Ranchero wraps are an excellent breakfast item. AS are grilled cheese sandwiches. Or chips and salsa. Or cheeseburgers. Well, usually just one cheeseburger. But lots of fries. Oh and BLTs are in my breakfast Hall Of Fame
  4. Speaking of the Hall Of Fame, My mom and I toured the NFL Hall of Fame on our way to the 135th anniversary battle reenactment in Gettysburg. My father who has been a football fan for far longer than I’ve walked this earth has never been there. I find this hilarious.
  5. I have an unabashed love of office supplies. I’ve never met a pen I don’t want to try but I am very finicky when it comes to the pens I’ll use. My favorite pen changes several times a year. Sometimes I go back to an old favorite, sometimes I don’t. Either way, I have a LOT of pens. And four minions guarding them. I’m not sure Marley is very helpful but Norman & Ethel do an excellent job.
  6. I have a bobble head collection of Republican politicians. I work in a law office. This messes with people. They often can’t decide if I have them because I like the folks they represent or dislike them and are making fun. I prefer not to answer questions on the subject. Though it doesn’t usually take very long before folks figure out which side I fall on.
  7. The top 10 most played songs on my iPod are
  • Mambo No. 5 (Lou Bega & Pereze Prado)
  • All Will Be Well (Gabe Dixon Band)
  • Cotton Eye Joe (Rednex)
  • Vertigo (u2)
  • Halleluja (Rufus Wainwright)
  • 100 Years (Five For Fighting)
  • Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy (The Andrews Sisters)
  • Prayer ’94 (Bon Jovi)
  • Clocks (Coldplay)
  • Accidentally In Love (Counting Crows)
  • One More Dollar (Gillian Welch)

4 responses to “Awww shucks…

  1. julia christine stephen

    Congratulations!

  2. Thank you for listing me! I’m flattered you follow my blog. By the way, I have an outfit I think of as a June Cleaver outfit … it’s dark blue linen button down, tight fitting to the waist but with a full skirt. And when I wear it I be sure to wear a very large brimmed hat and pearls. Yup, it’s a June Cleaver!

    • Ooooh! A HAT. I so need a hat. I just have the pearls. And I don’t vacuum. Which is actually why I have the pearls- longing joke between Mr.Me and I about my supposed domesticity that ENDS at the cleaning…

      And you’re welcome!

      • Gotta get the hat. I always keep my eyes open for them. The one that gets the most (positive) comments is a VERY large brimmed black hat – looks like Audrey Hepburn’s black hat in Breakfast At Tiffany’s. Never fails to get admiring comments to the point where it’s almost embarrassing.

Leave a comment