Ten Things

I think I shall try to reserve one day a week for a random thoughts kind of post. I’m thinkin’ a Ten Things Tuesday sounds good, has sort of a nice ring to it, but I didn’t think of it on Tuesday so you’ll have to deal with it on Wednesday this week instead. Since yesterday felt more like a Monday than a Tuesday, I think I can pull this off this time… So here goes, 10 random things about lil’ ol’ me…

  1. I lived in Tokyo for a semester during college. This experience was profound in that it taught me I am not a big city girl and would, therefore, likely NEVER use my major, but it was still one of the most valuable experiences of my life. I only wish I’d met my inner-fiber slut before I went.  That would have been so great.
  2. My favorite thing to be called in the whole wide world is “Gamma!” It probably has something to do with the astounding genius that was bringing to fruition my plan to skip kids entirely and go straight to grandkids, but being high on the list of a 2 year old’s favorite people is one of the greatest joys in life!
  3. My second favorite thing to be called is “sexy broad”.  I’m not sure if I love it because even though I feel heinously unsexy most of the time my hubby shouts it for all the world to hear anyway or if it’s the horrified looks it usually generates in a crowd, but I hope he never stops.
  4. My business card should read “Adult Babysitter”. Next time you see “Office Manager” on someone’s card or door, know what it really means is baby sitter of grown ups. At least that’s my experience. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. It just blows my mind every day the things that become my job in a room full of adults.
  5. I was selected for early entry to Pottermore. I am thrilled about this as I cannot wait to re-read the Harry Potter series for the I’ve-lost-track-th time. I’ve been on a 27 month hiatus from the series because I’ve sworn off paper ever since I got my first Kindle in May of 2009. Seriously. I read non-stop but I’ve only read one book in paper form in over 2 years. Well, expect for knitting and quilting books. But those don’t count.
  6. I knit short socks. Not footies, I still knit legs, just short ones. I could lie and tell you I do this because I am, well, short, and therefore longer socks make my legs look that much stubbier, but really, why lie? I knit short socks because I have a short attention span. When knitting the first sock, I just want it to be done so I can get on with the 2nd sock and when knitting the second sock, about half way through turning the heel, I am already paging through books and pawing through my stash to find the next sock I want to knit. If I knit them any longer I would never finish them.
  7. I’m wearing pink underwear. Perhaps that’s TMI but it’s turning out that 10 things is harder than I thought it would be. And yes, I had to double check just now to make sure I am, in fact, wearing pink underwear. And that reminds me I need to do laundry tonight.
  8. My favorite yarns are Malabrigo and Crock O Dye. Malabrigo probably wins, if I were to have to pick a straight favorite, love the feel of it, the look of the knitted fabric, everything. The only edge Crock O’Dye might have is durability.
  9. My favorite fabric is Moda. I’ve yet to meet a bolt that didn’t feel soft and wonderful from the word go.
  10. I drive a blue station wagon. This would be unremarkable in almost every way were it not for the circular ways of life. My first car, a hand me down from my brother, was a 1978 Chevy Malibu Classic station wagon. Blue. I loved that car. Probably mostly because it was MINE- it could be as clean or as messy as I wanted, I could put whatever I wanted on the stereo without worrying that someone would come along and change it. I carried my collection of weird life artifacts (a super soaker, a flannel shirt and an electric frying pan on summer) with pride in the back of Homer. I still miss that car. And now, 21 years later, after one hand me down, 2 used cars and one lease, I finally, for the first time ever, chose my make, model and color and I ended up in a blue station wagon. This time it’s a Subaru Outback. I love this car. Miss Lucy and I are going to be friends for at least as long as Homer & I hung out, probably longer- mostly because I doubt Lucy will develop that weird metal on metal rubbing noise when turning left. At least not until she’s 21 years old like Homer was… And I have 19.7 years to go before then.
Leave a Reply

