Andy Williams is wrong…

I don’t care what the song says, Christmas is NOT the most wonderful time of the year. Yes, the time with friends and family is great and we get together far too infrequently the rest of the year, but the hustle, the bustle, the shopping, the cold & snow, nope, there is just no way you will ever convince me that Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year.  The last dredges of summer and early fall are FAR more wonderful than anything that happens from, say, Thanksgiving through May. 

I enjoy this time of year more than any other. The reenacting season is winding down, football is ramping up, the temperatures are still warm  but the mornings and evenings are cool and comfortable… It really can’t get more wonderful than this. Especially because I have time to play in the kitchen possibly one of my favorite ways to pass a weekend.  I love the days when I can do this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That would be a batch of peanut butter waffles that went in the freezer for a few quick breakfasts during the week and a lemon pound cake (my first pound cake!). There was also cucumber salad, home-made mayo (yeah, I’m weird. I know, you can buy it from the grocery store but sometimes I like to do things the hard old fashioned way). Oh, and bread. Home made French bread to go with dinner- pizza style pork chops.  I think that was all for yesterday…  tonight’s roast beast with roasted root veggies that I picked up at the local farmer’s market yesterday.  Yep, I love these early fall days where I can fire up the oven all day and not worry about heating the house.  When I have nothing more pressing to do than appease my inner “Suzy Homemaker” (She cooks, she does not clean. Really) and eat well. REALLY well, especially when it saves me prep time during the week. Fall Saturdays are good. And now I must get back to my favorite fall Sunday pass time- football. And maybe a nap. And definitely some knitting. Finished a sock this morning so I gotta get at its mate before I lose momentum.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

