Instructions are overrated

I love to learn new things. Turns out even Minion knitting is valuable in this way. Last night I did my first three needle bind off while knitting Ethel. Turns out it is a spectacularly simple technique to add to my knitting know how. And fun that such a simple, silly project could teach me something new. Thanks, Ethel!

AS you may recall from that particular lunch knitting incident that produced a noose, I also learned to knit I-Cord very recently. I’d heard the term bounced around in the knitting store and just pretended like I knew what they were talking about so as not to look silly, but I’d not yet had any application that required the knitting of I-Cord so I never bothered to look it up. I don’t honestly even remember what it was 2 weeks ago that caused me to try it. I think it was one of those nights where my project wasn’t inspiring me, I’d seen instructions and I happened to have a big bag of sock yarn ends and a set of DPNs sitting next to me so I decided to give it a whirl. And it went well. But the process, while not at all complicated, is extremely fiddly when following the instructions- CO 5sts, transfer them to the left-hand needle so that the tail of the yarn is on the left, K the  stitches onto the right needle, transfer them back to the left & give a little tug, repeat. Easy enough, but that whole transferring of stitches us sort of a giant pain in the ass fiddly, but it’s what the directions said so its what I did.

Knitting Norman on Tuesday night meant a fair bit of I-cord must be knit in order for him to have appendages (A minion without appendages is nothing but  a hacky sack with eyes, right?) so CO6, transfer, K6, transfer, k6, transfer… On and on I went. Turns out Norman’s yarn is a bit splitty and I didn’t always catch my splits in time to fix them. Norman doesn’t mind, the arm hair makes him feel manly, but I was a bit disappointed with the end result. Ten Yards on a Galloping Horse (you know the one- if you can’t see the error from 10 yards on a galloping horse, there is no error) is a good philosophy but not one I can always embrace. But I am also lazy impatient and reknitting Norman’s limbs so they would be hair free just wasn’t going to happen. Like I said, he doesn’t seem to mind.

Last night I was knitting Ethel and I had a light bulb moment. Working on her first leg, I realized, you monumental dumbass, you’re knitting with circular needles. You don’t need to transfer the stitches back to the left hand needle, you just need to slide them ’round the cable to the other end & resume knitting. GAAAAAAH! Could I really be that dumb? An entire noose and 4.5 minion limbs before this dawns on me. K5, slide to the other end, K5, slide to the other end. HOLY CRAP! Do you know how much faster Ethel’s second leg went? And how much nicer the finished product looks? Afterall, girls don’t really want hairy legs, now, do they?

What's YOUR name?

So there you have it. Following the instructions is clearly NOT the most efficient way of doing things.  Ethel is very glad for this discovery. It means she got an arm over breakfast this morning. She had to wait until lunch to get the 2nd arm since the bosses seem to think it inappropriate to knit at my desk, but at least she knew without a doubt she’d get arm #2 before day’s end.  She was happy with that.

In other news, it turns out Norman’s dream of riding home waving at all the passers by with his newly acquired arms didn’t end so well…

Hello world!

Turns out the poor lil’ guy gets car sick…

Hey where did THAT come from?

One response to “Instructions are overrated

  1. Pingback: The one where I make excuses | Twisted Stitcher

Leave a Reply

