YoP Update 7/15/12

Seems crazy to be doing my first update when my list was just published on Wednesday, but, well, there are rules and I am certainly NOT going to kick off this endeavor by breaking them.  But before the update, I thought perhaps I’d offer you a glimpses of the ongoings in my head.  The genesis of my justification was this: Dina, on reading my list, told me she couldn’t decide if it says I am a very committed to my knitting or that I should be committed. I explained my thought process to her as best I could. I’m fairly certain I did not clear anything up for her on the commitment front.

Consider yourself warned…

Suzy’s Brain on a 34 projects in one year list.

I’m way more ZOMGWHATAMITHINKING at this point. But really, 12 of 34 are socks. That’s just a pair a month. I almost always have socks in my knitting bag and it’s been a long long time since I haven’t turned out at least one pair of socks in a month.  So that brings it to 22.  Of the 22, 4 dead fish hats are a sum total of 12-16 days knitting time. So then we’re at 18.  Hats for James, Rich and Scottie, again, 3-4 days per is about average for a hat. So that’s what, 15 projects to go over 12 months? And one of those is decidedly NOT something I plan to finish. Just random drunk knitting and what not. So really 14.  One of the 14 is already on the needles and moving along nicely. So I’m really only looking at 13 projects in 11 months.  Hardly more than one per month for at home knitting and that’s absolutely my average.

Yeah. Even I’m not buying it. And I REALLY shouldn’t tell my brain project #35 got added. Though it was also finished so it’s barely worth mentioning. But it’s funny if you’re perpetually 12 like me so I went with it.

That said, there actually IS progress on The List. So here goes:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Argyles for Dad (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12. As with all my sock, I’m knitting them toe up. Attempting Intarsia in the round. New skills are fun, right? Or maybe not. I’m already hating on myself for trying to knit black socks at night. These are already at risk of a time out. ZOINKS
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks (one of my Ravellenics challenges)
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift)
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. TBD
  9. TBD
  10. TBD
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf (Scotties’ OoG gift #1, Ravelllenics project #2)
  2. Whipoorwhill
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Scarf for Janesa
  7. Athena
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf
  9. Clapotis the sequel Cast on 7/8/12.  Since the socks are more of an at home project with colorwork, for the time being, this is my travel project.  Already onto the third section of the pattern which is where the knitting gets more interesting with the dropped stitches. 

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG)
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie (OoG & Ravellenics)
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI (no intentions of actually FINISHING this in a year, just growing it steadily)
  2. Tir Chonaill
  3. Ball Sack No really, it’s a sack. For storing your ball.  OF YARN. Sheesh. Get your mind outta the gutter. Oh wait. Never mind. I am perpetually 12. That’s EXACTLY why I’m knit a ball sack.  Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12

Progress To Date:

OTN 2/35

Completed 1/35

24 responses to “YoP Update 7/15/12

  1. Wow you do have a lot on your list! You’ll be a busy busy knitter!

  2. Wow! That’s quite the list. I look forward to seeing your projects.

  3. This is a big list (especially for knitting… but I’m a horrifically slow knitter…) – but I would also like to point out that you only technically committed to 7 pairs of socks so if the TBDs magically disappeared… it isn’t like you committed anything to those slots… SEEEEEE it is workable *laughs*

  4. Your list is big buy you know what I think its doable..mine is equally big but I’m ever the optimist that I’ll get most if not all complete and your reasoning made perfect sense to me, now I’m not sure if thats a good thing or not lol.

  5. I took the liberty of queueing some of these. Hope you don’t mind ! 😀

  6. You will be busy but we will be loving watching all your FO’s fall off your needles.

  7. I know I should be committed every time I look at my list. Not to worry, us crazies make the best cheer leaders!!!!

  8. I’m with you….I’m loving random drunk knitting, if there were only more of that in my life…..I am loving your epic blanket of insanity….love, love, love! Your not insane….or at least, I don’t think you are!

    • Oh… I am definitely insane. But I like to think its the fun kind! And everyone needs an epic blanket of insanity. Would mean more folks to trade sock yarn ends with…

  9. Great post…I think we all are like this a bit!

  10. Your list takes my breath away. Can’t wait to see you progress through it

  11. If I get my mind out of the gutter, what will become of all my friends ? I can’t just leave them there can I?

    I HATE knitting black socks. Which is entirely why I’m doubting my sanity about casting on Star Trek socks. I will anyway though!

  12. Wow…a great list…sounds like you will be a very busy knitter in the next few months…can’t wait to see your finished items

  13. …black socks at night… this is going to have me chuckling all week! Good luck with your massive and entirely rationally justified list 🙂

  14. Good luck on your list! I had to go back and count mine – I have 26 projects, plus 8000+ yards of acrylic to use up! I don’t mind having impossible goals though, and my list is a very fluid changing thing 🙂

  15. Drunk knitting, makes me smile. Sometimes in the am I look at what I was working on the night before and say….hum…must have been that last glass of wine. Dead Fish Hat….must check that out, love the name. AND your blog banner…………too funny! I like and actually follow your line of thinking, is that bad?

  16. Oh man, that list looks even more intimidating the second time around. Good luck!

  17. Loving the commentary, especially on the ball sack, it did make me laugh. And I don’t think you’re mad at all, it’s not like Im hopelessly overcommitted…

  18. Wow you do have a lot on your list! Can’t wait to see your progress this year. Good luck! Love the commentary too 🙂

  19. It’s deeply reassuring to meet someone else who over-commits themselves as much as I do. And I love your thought process! Sounds totally logical to me 😀 Although possibly, that shouldn’t reassure you!

    I’ve only made a crochet Clapotis – the idea of doing the dropped stitches version terrifies me! Fabulous list, and looking forward to seeing the projects 🙂

    • Me? Over commit? The heck you say!

      As for Clapotis, honestly i find it kind of fin to drop stitches on purpose for a change! But i would watch the yarn selection. I knit the first one in Malabrigo Twist which is nice and smooth, went really sweet and easy. This time I’m using Mal worsted which is not so smooth and extremely grabby. Makes dropping the stitches a much bigger challenge! It is going to be super soft and cozy when finished but not my most fun knit on progress.

  20. You sense of humour gave me a bit of a chuckle–and I loved reading your justification of the list. Yeah–I don’t believe it either, about your list AND mine-but the fun is in trying, and a year does seem like a long time. Right?
    *smiles*

Leave a Reply

