YOP Update 8/5/12

I’ve been largely neglecting my blog posts recently- too much focus on trying to accomplish all the projects I set forth for the Ravellenic games to spend the time typing I guess.  The motivation is working though, I am 2.5+ projects into the 4 knits I set out to accomplish in 17 days. And as all are a part of my Year of Projects list, I am happy to see progress there, too!  The knitting stalled out a bit this weekend, though.  Ironically, Mr.Me is gone for the weekend which should mean LOTS of knitting time but I’m getting very little of it. The reason I stayed behind is that my awesome nephew is in town from California so even the Olympics and the knitting aren’t enough to keep me away from Bradley time! I have a vacation day tomorrow and will probably spend most of it at home so I should make some progress then and really, the only thing in danger of not getting done is my 17 EBI squares which isn’t going to be a total heart breaker for me.

So here’s this week’s progress report

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12 On hold until the Olympics are over
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Ravellenic’s Project #2- Cast on 7/28/12 Sock #1 is done, sock #2 in progress
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift)
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. TBD
  9. TBD
  10. TBD
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan– I finally brought the yarn home from my office. Does this count as progress?
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf (Scotties’ OoG gift #1, Ravelllenics project #2) Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12. One of my favorite knits to date
  2. Whipoorwhill
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012.  The chances of this making it OTN have increased since seeing the finished projects on Ravelry. If only I could decide on the yarn…
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Scarf for Janesa
  7. Athena  Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12 On hold until after the Olympics
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf
  9. Clapotis  Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12.

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG)
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie (OoG & Ravellenics) Cast on 7/31 at 9PM, off and ends woven in on 8/1 at 11pm. I think this is my fastest ever finished object!
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI (no intentions of actually FINISHING this in a year, just growing it steadily) Progress underway for my Ravellenic Games goal of 17 squares in 17 days. Obviously not happening at one a day but I think I’ll achieve the goal at least! 
  2. Tir Chonaill
  3. Ball Sack  Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 35+

OTN 3/31

Completed 4/35

13 responses to “YOP Update 8/5/12

  1. Lovely scarf and hat! Enjoy your Bradley time and congrats on getting so much done!

  2. Great progress, just goes to show when not much typing is done how much knitting we can get in. Enjoy your Bradley time.

  3. even when you don’t feel productive, you knit soooooo much! and, after several weeks of reading, I have to ask: what is the orgy of greed?

    • The OoG is my brains version of Christmas. It started the first year I spent Christmas with Mr.Me’s family. I grew up in a family of 4 where presents were handed out one by one, opened while everyone watched and reactions were enjoyed. His family is 8 kids with kids of their own. Gifts were all but thrown at you, trampled in the process and all you saw was a frenzy of paper, ribbons and kids flying everywhere! Very overwhelming for me! But i assure you, all OoG references are made with love and good humor!

  4. Enjoy your Bradley time! Good luck with finishing your Ravellenic projects!

  5. Sounds like even if you’re doing less knitting then planned you’re having a good time, AND still making progress. Enjoy your visit.

  6. Make the best of your time with your nephew – knitting can wait for another day. As long you are making progress towards your goals then you’re succeeding 🙂

  7. Why does it seem that just when we think we have enough “me” time to get some serious yarning done that there is always something else? And the something else is totally worth it – enjoy Bradley time!!!!

  8. Wow! You’re doing fantastic! I love the Irish scarf and the beaded socks are beautiful! I’m doing my first and I’ve started several times and then frogged until after the Olympics. Those socks are motivation to get good at socks! The EBI is great….I love the name and the looks of it! Good luck on the rest of your Ravellenics!

  9. Well done on Ravellenics projects–I totally get the part about not getting knitting done during times that appear to be optimum fiber time! Sometimes life just gets in the way….
    *smiles*

  10. For one a month socks I can recommend Lenore. Once you get past the cuff, which isn’t that bad, the rest of the sock just flies off the needle.

  11. I have also gotten absorbed in the Ravellenics. 2.5 out of 4 projects seems pretty good to me though!

  12. FOUR Ravellenic projects? Sounds like you’ve been knitting furiously, well done!

Leave a Reply

