YOP Update 8/12/12

The Ravellenic Games has produced for me a whirlwind rush of project completion.  3 items off my list in a mere 14 days. This is quick.  I think I am still stuck in quilter brain where I don’t finish things very quickly because the whole pesky work thing gets in my way.  The Games has given me pause to reconsider. Turns out maybe I really do knit quite a lot.  And while I know that this was an unusual lot of finishing do to extra focused effort on my part, it occurs to me now that I probably still net a minimum 15-20 hours with sticks and string in hand each week. Considering my average work-week is 35 hours (40 one week, 32 the next), I really can’t complain.  I spend a lot of my waking hours doing the thing I seem to love best for ways to pass the time. This makes me immeasurably happy!

So with the Games wrapping up at the end of London 2012’s closing ceremony tonight, it’s time to resume a more normal knitting pace and return the love to a couple of projects I’ve ignored these last 17 days.  The Deranged Dad socks and the Boneyard are back in my active rotation.  My spinning wheel is due up for some love as well. Turns out after nearly 3 weeks of spinning almost every day, walking away from the wheel to focus solely on knitting for the next 2 weeks made me really really miss spinning! So while my finished object posts will likely suffer, my WIP posts will look a little dull and my stash of finished yarn will continue to grow, I’m still happily chugging along at my Year of Projects list.  The progress looks a little like this:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12 On hold until the Olympics are over
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Ravellenic’s Project #2- Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift)
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. TBD
  10. TBD
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan– I finally brought the yarn home from my office. Does this count as progress?
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf (Scotties’ OoG gift #1, Ravelllenics project #2) Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12. One of my favorite knits to date
  2. Whipoorwhill
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012.  The chances of this making it OTN have increased since seeing the finished projects on Ravelry. If only I could decide on the yarn…
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Scarf for Janesa
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12 I’ve added a few more rows to this one over the last couple of days. There wasn’t any chance of casting on and finishing another project before the Rav Games ended so Boneyard went back into my knitting bag as of work on Friday.
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf
  9. Clapotis  Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12.

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG)
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie (OoG & Ravellenics) Cast on 7/31 at 9PM, off and ends woven in on 8/1 at 11pm. I think this is my fastest ever finished object!
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI I set a goal of 17 finished squares during the Ravellenic Games for this one. I finished the last of the 17 Saturday night.
  2. Tir Chonaill
  3. Ball Sack  Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 35+

OTN 3/30

Completed 5/35

15 responses to “YOP Update 8/12/12

  1. Wow! Great job with your Ravellenic projects!

  2. I loved taking part in the Ravellenic Games, however next time I am definitely going to make smaller and quicker projects as I put too much pressure on myself to get a big one finished and landed up not enjoying the knitting or the Games as much. But we live and learn! Good going on getting 3 done.

  3. I couldn’t believe how much I got done during Ravellenics either…18 small projects and lots were gifts! My biggest adjustment is going to be going back to the limited crochet time I had before the Games. My husband was nice enough to take over other stuff during the games so I could participate in full but I guess I have to go back to cleaning the house now 😛

  4. Well done on getting so much done during the Ravellenic Games, its a huge amount to get done.

  5. It’s good to have short bursts at things, keeps you interested and keen….I also like that you do get to spend your spare time doing things you love, that certainly makes for a happy soul!

  6. great accomplishments…but I can’t wait for an update on dad’s deranged socks…! sometimes I can put a lot of time into knit/crochet and get nothing accomplished..congrats

  7. You make me feel so unaccomplished!

  8. I think it’s so important to spend time doing what you love, it recharges your soul and spirit for everything else. Hope you’re enjoying the Closing Ceremony!

  9. I loved the frantic knitting of the Ravellenic Games, and I now know I can do it if I try, but I agree. Its time to slow down and I’m also looking forward to spinning again.

  10. Sounds like you’ve got things well under control 🙂 I work similar hours, and find myself sneaking 30 minutes stitching time at lunch or breaks, or even walking home! You’ve gotta get your time in where you can.

    3 projects finished in 14 days is great going 🙂 Enjoy the spinning!

  11. I love the way you’ve described your knitting time. My crochet time makes me feel immeasurably happy, too. (My knitting time – well it depends. For me, knitting is slower and more grueling.)

  12. Great job on all your finished items – that is a lot of knitting in 14 days. Looking forward to seeing your completed yarn – I am spin envy when it comes to those who actually get to spin up yarn.

  13. Congrats on your Ravellenic achievements! Really am looking forward to seeing Deranged Dad socks….I have yet to attempt a pair…but reconsidering as I love sock yarn…

Leave a Reply

