Year of Projects- 9/2-12

As expected, there is not a lot of progress to report on where my list is concerned this week.  What I was working on last week is what I am working on this week. This isn’t to say that progress isn’t happening, just that projects aren’t moving around so much.  My Winding Ways sock is moving along nicely.  I’m working on the cabled cuff (keeping in mind, of course, that I avoid top down socks at all cost so I’m knitting the pattern upside down, technically- the cuff is the last part!) so sock # 2 should be on the needles soon. Pictures will happen on Wednesday I think.

The big news for the week is my Tîr Chonaill.  I am still not fully convinced I am going to have enough of the main color to complete all 7 repeats, but I’m getting more comfortable with it.  I think I might pull it off but it’s going to me a matter of inches I suspect.  Beyond that, I am in love.  At least once per night of knitting on it I stop to pet it and tell Mr.Me how pretty it is.  Its one of those odd projects that really has no practical application in my life, but I don’t care. There is just something about it that I can’t turn away from. I’m still askeert of the steeking part but I usually don’t let fear of such things stop me from plowing ahead with them. This will be the same.  Stretching my skill set will be a good thing. And I’ll have a completely useless, entirely gorgeous lap blanket to show for it. Can’t WAIT!

So, enough with the babbling, here’s the progress on my list:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift)
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– This one’s looking to be a likely candidate for the Antietam Road Trip.
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012. I have a yarn theory in mind. I should create a stats category for this I think. Theoretical knitting It should count for something…
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Candidate #2 for Antietam
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Winter Hiking Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress since the Ravellinic Games wrapped up but I have several swaps in the works so more colors coming soon!
  2. Tir Chonaill  cast on 8/24
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 35+

OTN 3/27

Completed 8/35

11 responses to “Year of Projects- 9/2-12

  1. You are still making great progress!!

  2. Sounds to me like you’re making good progress. Though I understand the feeling, sometimes I think….geesh it looks the same as it has for the last couple of weeks. Question…love the idea of a calendar on the blog, how did you do that? Think I’ve told you this before, but I too have singer treadle sewing machine, right here in my office. It’s old, was my Grandmothers and is the type of machine I learned to sew on.

    • The calendar is one of my widget options with WordPress. Its been so long since I’ve used bloodspot that I can’t remember if I had one there, too…

      LOVE my treadle. She’s such a dream to sew on!

  3. oh wow, tyr chonaill is so pretty that it’s making my heart hurt. Some things don’t have to be useful, they can make a perfectly valid contribution to life just by being beautiful. That is the kind of knitting that I aspire to. Looking forward to seeing some sock progress!

  4. I am in awe of Tyr Chonaill…way above my skill set….I can’t wait to see it..

  5. Make sure you update Tîr Chonaill regularly! I’ve got it queued so I need all the tips I can get!

  6. How is a lap blanket useless? Isn’t it ridiculously cold where you live for about half the year? And gorgeous is right… I can’t wait for pictures!

    • Yes to all you say. I get it. It’s just not my most practical use of time and yarn. But I don’t care cuz somethings just need to be knit no matter how practical they are….

  7. How in the world could you say something as beautiful as that lap blanket is useless??? crazy!!! I really cannot wait to see it done. 🙂

    • Useless is, perhaps, harsher a word than I mean… just not… Practical… I have three fully clawed thumbless overlords. They’re going to be hard on the knits if I try to use it as a lap blanket. But there’s no chance I’m giving it away, either. Too much gorgeous to part with. This is being knit purely for the joy of creating something this amazing. I am still in love. And about to post an updated progress pic… Stay tuned…

  8. Knitting a pattern upside down? I am duly impressed! I agree with others, your lap blanket will not even be close to useless, and besides, isn’t a very real part of our fibre madness, the pure joy sometimes in just the creating of something lovely? 🙂 Hope your week has been happy–I am obviously visiting late!
    *smiles*

Leave a Reply

