Spinning for the Cup

Saturday was Fun with Millie day. Since we’re about to head out of town and she won’t be feelin’ the love for a little while, I opted to do some spinning with my free time.  Again, this tied into my new found fun with the Harry Potter Knit & Crochet House Cup on Ravelry. One of the class prompts for this month is Flying through hoops and one of the options was to spin a self-striping yarn that would knit up into hoops. The actual knitting wasn’t required to fulfill the assignment, just the spinning.  Since I’d not yet spun self striping yarn, I decided to have a go.

First up was selecting roving in three different colors. Luckily I’ve got a pretty good stash going so I tore off relatively equal chunks of three different colors and set them up in sequence for spinning

In order to maintain the stripes, I knew I wanted to chain/Navajo ply the yarn and, while i really do enjoy N-Plying, I know from experience I have better luck when I spin my singles a little thicker than what I usually aim for.  I figured I’d like to end up with about a worsted weight yarn so did my best to aim for a single about 1/3 the weight of a finished worsted ply.

This being the first time I’ve N-plied specifically to maintain a striping sequence, it was a bit of a challenge.  I didn’t always hit the color breaks quite right, but all in all, I’m happy with how it turned out. There will be a little overlap. most noticeable when the brown changes to white or pink to brown, but I don’t think it’ll be overly noticeable when I knit this up. And it was enough fun that I will probably try it again sometime.

As for the finished yarn… The fact that my favorite three options for roving were pink, cream and brown, I have to say, the yarn totally reminds me of Neopolitan Ice Cream.  NOM!  So I think I need to knit it up into a hat and call it “Brain Freeze”. Cuz I’m silly like that. And at about 170 yards, I have the perfect amount of worsted for a hat and not much else. So yay! I kinda feel like I owned the crafting world this weekend!

7 responses to “Spinning for the Cup

  1. What you do with your handspun is just amazing to me. I’m still working on not letting my yarn get too thin without enough twist.

    • Believe me, so am I! LOL Especially when I change between wheels! But it’s a work in progress. And the beauty is, knitting hides a lot of “design elements” in my hand spun!

  2. I so want a spinning wheel. So badly. That yarn looks beautiful, I can’t wait to see it knit up. I love the blend of the natural tones.

    • Get two! I mean one. Or two. Cuz then you can have a collection! Which I swear was not my goal. I wanted one compact use at home or reenacting wheel. I got one compact travel wheel that stays at home and one Saxony style thats smallish but still too big for my house (at least for a second wheel) that travels with me and i love them both

      • Have you heard any thing about the Lendrum? That is the first one I’m thinking about getting because you can change the flyer head easily and I won’t grow out of it as quickly.

      • Never tried them. I meant to but before i got to the shop where i could try one I fell in love with my Schacht sidekick and never tested another wheel!

  3. Pingback: Spinning Singles. I’m Seeing Some Progress. « All She Wants To Do Is Knit

Leave a Reply

