Year of Projects 9/23/12

Its that time again… Sunday. Football day. Cook up something fabulous because I have time to make a real meal day. Year of Project’s update day. I love Sunday!

Progress has occurred this week which is, all things considered, a pleasant surprise.  After hours of endless knitting time while we were on our trip, this week was a swift reality check as we tried to get back to the normal routine.  My desk was surprisingly calm when I got to work on Wednesday, but like most weeks, by the end it didn’t disappoint in the crazy department.  So any knitting progress by the time I got home was satisfying!

As reported on Friday, I finished my Charlie Chevron Scarf.  I tried my hand at steam blocking this one and was very pleased with the result.  Except, perhaps, for the stink. Which wasn’t the scarf’s fault. That was the result of having it in the tent all weekend with camp fires burning all around us. It’s amazing how you don’t notice the smell when it’s permeating everything but man is it gnarly once you get back home! Do you think the squirrels complain amongst themselves about the smell we bring out doors from home permeating their natural environment?

I’ve also made really good progress on Tir Chonaill this week.  I am actually hoping by the day’s end I will be well on the way to finishing the I-cord binding.  Yesterday was the first time I ever really hated the project.  Not because of the terrifying bit where I had to take a scissors to it, either! It’s trying to get 544 stitches onto a 40″ needle with a 2nd 40″ needle holding an equal number of live stitches impeding movement of the stitches on the needle.  Thank GOD I only have to deal with this for 5 rows or I would be tempted to put the whole thing into a time out. But at the end of those 5 rows I get to do the binding and it’s DONE!

In preparation for finishing the blanket, I knit myself a sample square, too. Just one repeat of the pattern using the leftover yarn. First I think I need to spend a moment on the significance of leftover yarn. There was some time there where I was convinced I would need to order more. So leftover was exciting! And I survived the steek.  Successfully completed the steek sammich and I-cord bind off.  I’m not sure it did a lot to ease the steeking anxiety when I got to the full project but at least I knew what I was doing when I got there. And since I turned in this mini-project for points in the House Cup, I think I get to add it to my totals for the year. Cuz it’s fun to see the number of finishes growing even if it means the total number is increasing, too!

So with that, I offer up this week’s update.

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12 Still on the gusset of the first sock
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Anticipated Cast on Date of 9/30 as part of the HPKCHC
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012. I have a yarn theory in mind. I should create a stats category for this I think. Theoretical knitting It should count for something…
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. WingspanCast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Winter Hiking Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress since the Ravellinic Games wrapped up but I have several swaps in the works so more colors coming soon!
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24 The finish Line is in sight!
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20Really a sample to practice steeking, making the sandwich and doing the I-Cord bind off, but it netted me House Cup Points so I’m declaring it an official project. Cuz dude. I steeked! 
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15

And since insanity is my specialty, I added a couple pair of Civil War Garters to the knit list. Both started and finished at Antietam with yarn purchased on site. I have to tell you, I felt much better about the world once I found a suttler selling yarn! Even though I think its safe to say at this point that i am in no danger of running out…

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 37

OTN 4/25 Feeling better about 4 than I did about 5. Especially since one is nearly off. Which brings me back down to my usual three- one pair of socks, one shawl, one EBI

Completed 12/37

11 responses to “Year of Projects 9/23/12

  1. You and I have the same philosophy on Sundays. I get so much knitting done while watching the Redskins lose too…

  2. I know exactly what you mean about the stink after one gets home from camping … but I’ve been blaming it on the squirrels and what not all along. Can’t wait CAN’T WAIT to see Tir Chonaill!

  3. I am impressed you survived the steek, I wouldn’t dare. And can’t wait to see it finished!

  4. Steeking! Just the sound of that word terrifies me! You are making great progress on your list–I hope to do dead fish hats someday for the Grandy’s. Is the pattern difficult?
    *smiles*

  5. Steeking I-cord and 500 stitches, that sounds scarier to me than some lace knitting!

  6. awesome job on all!…steeking, impressive! You must feel fab right about now…I hope to see the fo soon! I don’t have to cook Sundays, but I do have cleanup…if I want to watch football, I have to join my brother in his room, mom has her tv…and her and my sister watch netflix while he and I enjoy the games….I hope you have a terrific week! Take care!

  7. dude, I have watche horror movies that were less scary to me than steeking! I cannot wait to see this project! Sundays are my best knitting day as well.

    • I won’t lie, a stiff drink would have helped me mentally to get through it, but I don’t think it would have helped the project along so much… But now that I’ve done it, I’m not sure what I was so scared of. Sort of like the difference between watching Nightmare on Elm Street when I was 12 and watching it when I was 32…

  8. Sundays I’m the one in the chair asking for a beer and sandwich..no work happens…I watch every game on.. WOW..on all your work.. congrats

Leave a Reply

