Year of Projects 10/7/12

Another week gone and I feel like I’m stuck in a rut.  The Whippoorwill is threatening to be the death of me.  I’m finally to the part where it gets interesting, but not REALLY interesting because the rows are over 450 stitches and growing. I don’t think anything is THAT interesting. Expect maybe for the Tir Chonaill bind off because it only had to happen for a few rows and it was done.  This.  This seems to be going on forever. I can accomplish 4-5 rows on a good night. This does not feel like progress. And since I really knit it with intent to use it reenacting and the reenacting season is over, well, the urge to work on it is dwindling. But I’m close enough to the end where I don’t want to toss it aside.  Its a conundrum.  But I am hoping like hope that if I keep soldiering on, I will have a finished object by Friday. Or at least next week. Cuz man, I don’t know how much more of this shawl I can take.

The plain vanilla socks for dad aren’t going much better. I am onto the leg of the first sock. But it feels like I’ve been on this sock forever. I  think it’s harder for me to work on things that aren’t for me. Because, I admit it freely, I am a very selfish knitter.  But I will knit on. I’ve already let the Deranged Dad sock get the better of me, I will not cave to the vanilla…  At least there’s football today to keep me entertained while I knit on. And on. And on…

So the status of the list that has not changed from last week…

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12 On the heel flap of sock #1
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Hoping to cast on this weekend…
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Fourth color transition has begun. I’m not sure I love this one, not as subtle as the first 2, but I am not frogging. 
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012. .
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Winter Hiking Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress since the Ravellinic Games wrapped up but I have new yarn to add to it which makes me want to work on it some more. 
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth
  3. Cherry Blossom Dish Cloth
  4. Poo Bag Pouch

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 41

OTN 3/27

Completed 14/41

11 responses to “Year of Projects 10/7/12

  1. Oh god, I feel you on that shawl. It KILLED ME. I really hated it towards the end. However, the finished object is quite lovely and I do wear it often.

  2. I hate long rows like that, I know exactly what you mean. I one madea scarf that never seemed to grow, the rows were so long. And Tir Chonaill looks AMAZING!

  3. Sounds dreadful, rather you than me! I LOVE your Tir Chonaill…it looks amazingly complicated…can’t believe you let your cat on it..one of our cats has a tendency to strop on fabric, I would have to evict her if I saw her near something that beautiful!

  4. Oh man, I hate that phase where everything I’m knitting feels frozen and sloggy. That’s usually when I wind up with 6-7 things on the needles at once. Then the knitting feels even slower. Be strong!

  5. I know that feeling – I was there with Nuvem – I think I have about 800+ sts on the needle now and a round is taking about 45 minutes! I put it to one side for a couple of weeks and actually enjoyed picking it up last night. Maybe you’ll experience the same….? I had planned to make Whippoorwill soon, but maybe I’ll wait until long-row-itis is just a memory!

  6. You’ll get through just don’t stop knitting 🙂

  7. I think we all have that feeling sometimes, but if you stick through it, I’m sure the shawl will be lovely!

  8. OH no, are the plain going the way of the deranged? Hope it goes better this week..

  9. wow wow wow. Your Tir Chonaill is amazing, I can’t imagine the strength of character needed to knit something that beautiful and then cut it. I’m with you on the long rows too, I think you just have to knuckle down and do it. Perhaps the socks are just too easy? :ducks:

Leave a Reply

