Year of Projects 10/14

I think I can officially be charged with blog-neglect.  Blame it on the urge to knit all the things! At once. NOW.

So it turns out a little perspective was exactly what I needed where Whippoorwill was concerned.  I set it aside, cast on my Camden Place cardigan and was happy.  And last night I was able to knit a few rows on Whippoorwill with no overwhelming urge to kill it with fire or anything! Felt like quite an accomplishment! Though I did learn part of my problem where the shawl is concerns is that I keep insisting on reading ahead.  If I’d just knit the rows as they come and be content in the knowledge that I’ve taken it from 20 rows to go down to 16 I might could be happy. But instead I keep reading ahead… I have nearly 100 more increase stitches to go before it’s done.  And over 550 to bind off at the end. And now I’m back to giving it the stink eye.  Not quite to the burn it with fire level, but if I’m not careful, well, you can see where this is going…

AS for Camden Place, so far, it’s all I dreamed it could be. Which might be a premature declaration as I’m less than one ball in with 8 or 9 more in the wings waiting for curtain calls.  At any rate, the waistband is knit and I’ve started on the bottom body. Nothing terribly challenging which makes it great for TV knitting.  Pictures will happen come Wednesday.

The vanilla sock continues to drag on.  I need to give the ball of yarn a quick weigh up to see how close I am to the half way point so I can decide how much longer to knit the leg. Then I can finally knit sock #2.  And after that it would seem I need to get on the Masonic Lodge socks I’ve been planning to knit for Mr.Me. Seems he’s starting to ask for another pair to call his own.  At least it takes away any challenge in deciding what to knit next, right?

So in the end, I wrap up another week with no real progress on the list. Well, progress yes, but nothing to mark complete.  I’m learning to be OK with that, but it’s a challenge!

Progress Report

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12 Well on the way to finishing sock #1
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan OTN as of 10/9/12.  Wasitband is knit, now I’m working on the lower body. I just hope I chose the size correctly or I might cry!
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 For the moment, no desire to kill it with fire and “only” 16 rows left! I’m optimistic about further progress while watching football today
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012. .
  4. Pogona
  5. Zuzu Petals for April (OoG)
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG)
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG)
  7. Winter Hiking Hat for James (OoG) (Pattern subject to change on a whim!)

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress since the Ravellinic Games wrapped up but I have new yarn to add to it which makes me want to work on it some more. 
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast l  10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Cherry Blossom Dish Cloth
  4. Poo Bag Pouch
  5. Teeny Tiny Snowmen 5 of these make up my Quidditch Game #2 projectCast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 42

OTN 4/27

Completed 16/42

7 responses to “Year of Projects 10/14

  1. Sounds like you definitely need to take each row as it comes with that shawl, just enjoy the knitting! I’m looking forward to seeing it!

  2. I dunno, I think if you look at how your list looks now compared to how it looked at the beginning, you’ve made excellent progress! The problem (or awesome thing?) with knitting multiple projects is some days nothing looks noticeably bigger than before, and other days you bind off 3 projects at once. It’ll all get done!

  3. Counting stitches…yikes, never a good idea, until you’re done. Then it’s kinda fun to see how many you did. Hang in there.

  4. Colinb bad

  5. If you’re knitting larger projects – or projects with fingering yarn on tiny needles – then progress is bound to be slow. It is what it is, right? Sounds like you’re enjoying the Camden knit! As for shawls, I just don’t have the patience for those really, really, really long rows 🙂

  6. I admire your ability to knit the same project many times for different people, I can barely stand to knit some patterns once!

  7. LOL…I have lots of things that get the stink eye!

Leave a Reply

