Year of Projects 11/18/12

This may be my favorite YOP update of the year…  Because it’s the one that marks the start of my favorite week of the year- STAYCATION WEEK!

A couple of years back I realized some very important things about my “real life”…  First, because of my job, it’s nearly impossible to take any significant amount of time off in the month of December. January isn’t so great either.  Which means I have 10-11 months to use 12 months worth of vacation time.  Second, I NEVER use all of my vacation time.  Third, there is one week every year where I can take three days off and net a full week’s vacation. When I added these three things up, I realized I MUST take Staycation over Thanksgiving and I must do so annually, at least as much as possible.

Three days nets a week because my office is always closed for Thanksgiving and the day after, so I need only use three vacation days to take the week off. It would be a great opportunity to travel but for two things- Mr.Me does NOT take vacation over Thanksgiving week and I really, truthfully, do not like holiday traveling. It just isn’t fun and relaxing to be in an airport when everyone and their uncle is on a plane to visit grandma. So it’s not so much Vacation as Staycation. And there is a fine art to staycation if done properly.

First, one does NOT plan to better the household during staycation. This is not the time for painting the living room, regrouting the tile or cleaning the carpets.  Second, this is not the time to cram in all those things you’ve been meaning to get to but just haven’t. No doctors appointments, no dentist appointments, no oil changes, nothing. Grocery shopping and preparing the Thanksgiving Day feast are allowed but only if that’s what makes you happy.  Actual chorse, if at all possible, should be accomplished over the weekend preceding the actual staycation dates.  Chores are things done on weekends in the normal course so it’s ok to tackle them, just not during the ACTUAL vacation days. Third, and this one is very important, guilt is not allowed.  Staycations are made for lounging in your jammies, a cat on your lap, crappy TV or chick-flicks on the big screen and nothing but knitting, spinning, reading, sipping tea and generally making with the sloth-like happy-coma-inducing activities.  The only exception to rule three is if one can work in conjunction with one’s friends to arrange that rarest of all beasts- a play date. Grown ups only. No husbands.  Let me tell you, I am anticipating a VERY successful staycation.  The yarn is laid in. The needles are at the ready.  The wool fairy arrived last weekend. I am ready set go for a week long frenzy of all things yarn related and I could not be happier. The list that followes- be prepared to see a good chunk of it knocked out by this time next week. Oh yes. There will be knitting. And Spinning. And maybe even Dying. And it will be good. Full reports to follow. Probably. If I feel like getting ’round to them.

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12 FINALLY
  5. Masonic Lodge (possibe OoG gift for Mr.Me)
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Emma’s Chemise
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Still in time out.  Still not talking about it.
  3. Rockefeller– WestKnits Mystery Shawl KAL 2012. .
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No new squares to report this week but I should be working on it in the next couple because 16 squares are slated for turn in for HPKCHC homework this month
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Granny Square Dish Cloth #2
  5. Winter Hiking Hat

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 44

OTN 3/21

Completed 23/44

7 responses to “Year of Projects 11/18/12

  1. I like the sound of that staycation very much indeed! I wish we had Thanksgiving here. Hurrah for finished vanilla socks!

  2. You are SO right about “staycations”….I am retired and I almost have to put blinders on to sit and knit if there’s something that needs to be done but I’ve learned….there is ALWAYS something that needs to be done. I thought it was just because I worked all those years but no….it’s just a fact of life! LOL! Sounds like you have a great one planned and so smart to get the supplies in before hand too! Enjoy!!!!!

  3. I REALLY wish I’d seen this post before I completed my StayCation last week. I did put in an Eye doctor appointment. And I did sacrifice two and half days to babysitting nephews. And I did spend one day doing housework. Now I feel like it’s all been a waste 😦

    Have a great one!

  4. Enjoy your week, though we like to get things accomplished during our stayacations, much easier then trying to cram it into the weekend when you’re too tired to want to do it, or before or after work. But, as hubby says, that’s why we can all find our cars in the parking lot! Enjoy your time.

  5. Thanks for the education and stressing the importance of a staycation. I think I must have one, soon… I’m gonna break out my pj pants and live in them..

  6. I love your rules for staycation. I’m going to try to follow them for my mini-staycation this week.

  7. Sounds like an amazing week, I’m very jelous! And I had similar rules when I went to my parents for a weekend for a break. I said i wasn’t doing any grocery shopping, but i didn’t mind walking the dogs because i like doing that. I was on the brink of going insane with work, and it was just so relaxing!

Leave a Reply

