Year of Projects 12/2/12

Let me start by saying this: HOLY CRAP IT’S DECEMBER!  How on earth did that happen? How does time seem to pick up speed every year? It wasn’t so long ago I was training the new person who is the other half of my accounting department, putting in 10-12 hour days on a regular basis and generally trying to maintain my sanity between that and holiday preparations. How is it time to do it all again? Well, the holiday preparations, not the training part (thank heavens!). Christmas can’t possibly be right around the corner again, can it?

On the up side, I am making reasonable, if not great, strides on my holiday preparations. The knitting list is well in check.  I’d like to finish the Masonic Lodge socks for Mr.Me’s stocking- for some reason I find it hilarious to put socks in stockings. I do it for the grandkids every year and try to give the mister a pair as well.  Sock #1 made some great progress yesterday. I did a computer upgrade at work which meant  full day at the office, a lot of time baby sitting software installs and nothing better to do than to knit and stream Doctor Who on my phone.  I have to tell you, if more days at the office were like that I might find the work thing FUN!

As for the rest of the holiday knitting, I am going to try my best not to stress about it one way or another because the holidays present enough stress without turning my relaxation time into a stressor.  I  think the only other items left on my giftmas knitting list are a couple of fish hats.  The nice thing is these only take a couple nights each to knock out so I’m not worried, plus I don’t need them until sometime in January as they are for family we get together with after the mad rush dies down. So I think the  Christmas knitting is nicely handled.

Beyond the holiday crazies, I’ve taken a look at my YOP list and made a couple of substitutions. I think some of them showed up a week or two ago, one or two are new to this week’s update.  Primarily, Rockafeller has come off the list for now. There are a couple of reasons for this. First, it turns out I just don’t love it at the moment. It’s pretty, I have a couple of yarn theories in mind for it that I think would work great, but I’m really just not feeling it.  More importantly, after my Whippoorwill experience, I think I don’t much care for semi-circular shawls. The short rows seem to go on for decades without actually feeling like I’ve accomplished anything. I may change my mind down the road, but for now I’ve substituted Jagged Edge for Rockafeller. And I’m nearing the half way point on this knit so I am pleased. Its another Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club installment, I think the third of the patterns I’ve gotten that I have actually worked on, and I love it.

I’ve also changed up the sweater list a bit.  I still love Emma’s Chemise, but this being winter, a summer weight sweater doesn’t seem like my best option. Too long until I can wear it.  So it is going to wait in the wings for now. it might make a fresh appearance as an expansion project come spring, but for now, I’m going to queue up Ink in it’s place. Cardigans seem to be my favorite sweaters to knit because I can wear them at work. It turns out my office ranges somewhere between Tropical and Gates of Hell temperature-wise so pullovers are often entirely too hot. Cardigans are nice because I can wear them on the to and from work when it’s ball-shriveling cold out (or so I hear) and keep it on if the temperature indoors hedges this side of tropical but can easily abandon as it rockets toward gates of hell as happens most afternoons.  For this reason I tend toward fingering weight cardigans because I stand to be able to wear them longer! And I’ve stashed a crap-ton (technical term, obviously) of Malabrigo Sock in Ravelry Red to make this sweater.  I think it may go on the needles soon as red and Christmas time just go together, no?

For the moment I think the list has only grown by 1 project and that one was on and off the needles before I ever had a chance to update it! Nerwin happily counting Jelly Belly’s by day and stashing them by night. I think he likes this arrangement.

With that, the list

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12 FINALLY
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, just a few rows left before the heel is official turned on sock #1.
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half
  9. Lenore
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. TBD
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink (Formerly Emma’s Chemise)
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge (Replaces Rockefeller)- Cast on 11/23/12, I’m about 1/4 of the way finished and I LOVE it!
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG)
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI Progress is slow but steady. 17 Squares were added for turn in to History of Magic this week which, added to a few knit before the start of November, makes for a full row plus ?. Still going to be a many years project!
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30  Not a bad knit but I didn’t love it so I don’t think this will make it into a regular rotation for hats

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 44

OTN 3/17

Completed 27/44

6 responses to “Year of Projects 12/2/12

  1. I’ve been craving more cardigans lately too, for much the same reason. Can’t seem to find the time though!

  2. I love cardigans for layering, too– and it’s an excuse to use sock yarn 🙂

    The end of the year is just barreling towards us; and the days are short, which makes it all feel compressed (at least to me). Hanukkah’s well before Christmas this year, so I feel pretty lucky that my holiday crush will be over and done with soon (which probably isn’t how a person is supposed to feel about the holidays, but oh well!)

  3. Now you have me giggling about socks in stockings! I was also kind of in shock when December arrived.

  4. I love ink..it is still a bit above my skill level, but I’m getting the pattern…I’m lucky that we are so isolated that there is no mad holiday rush..it really is lovely having very quiet holidays!

  5. Sounds like things are really moving along despite how fast the year moves these day; so with you on that. You blink…and the whole season has changed. I popped over to check out the jagged shawl, very nice. I love that it’s garter stitch, what a disappointment to see it’s not available except tot he special membership group.

  6. You’re so right on the speeding up of time and also about not turning what is a relaxing hobby into a stress-inducer. This is the reason I’m not really knitting for Christmas. Well maybe just one or two little things, but nothing major.

    Have a lovely week x

Leave a Reply

