YOP 12/26/12

So it would seem I once again find myself entirely behind on blogging. Do you suppose I should blame Christmas or the Apocalypse that wasn’t?  Christmas is probably the more plausible since it gets a bit crazy this time of year for all who partake of it’s wonders, but the apocalypse might sound better- like I was using all my time to knit all the things before the world ended because it would be entirely wrong to go out with this much un-knit yarn and un-spun fiber…  Better story, don’t you think?

Truth be told, however, there wasn’t a lot of anything happening.  I did do a bit to festive up the joint over the weekend.  I put my tree up Sunday while watching my Packers wrap up a lovely little victory with a big shiny green and gold bow. I wasn’t going to put one up this year… The “kids” pretty much destroyed the tree last year and really haven’t lost a bit of that kitten energy but they weigh twice as much this year so I knew the tree didn’t really stand a chance. But I couldn’t let the big day pass without any sort of tree so I did it. Put the big ‘un up this year. With a carefully selected batch of unbreakable ornaments because, well, you can guess why.  Still, looks pretty good, no?

Favorite thing about my tree this year? The snowflakes.

They were my Grandma’s and I always loved them so having them to put on my own tree makes me happy and reminds me so much of her and Grandpa.  I had a good laugh when putting the ornaments on because I knew I was “doing it all wrong”.  There was a very specific plan used when decorating their tree and I wasn’t even close. But I did maintain the one most important tradition- snowflakes last to fill out the “blank” spots. Turns out there really wasn’t much point as the vast majority of them have been knocked off and rehung out of reach of the lower branches (not that this matters much either since the beasties just climb to them anyway) but it’s the thought that counts, right?

Since this is a Year of Projects post, I suppose I should go about saying something about the knitting.  Progress these last couple of weeks was not fabulous.  I did finish a sock and have made some substantial progress on it’s mate, but I have to confess this has happened in the last few days. I don’t honestly know what I was doing other than knitting, but there just wasn’t much in the way of progress! I think this is going to change soon. First, the holiday madness is over. No more gifts to buy or wrap, no more cookies to bake and decorate, just a lot of long winter days to wrap my fingers around some wool and create. Ahhh…

Also the new term for the Harry Potter Knit & Crochet House Cup starts in just over a week.  I’ve been purposely avoiding starting new things just now because if I wait a few more days, they’ll count for points. Funny thing about the break month between terms, I want to avoid much knitting because I can’t earn points if I start during the break month!  So I’ve been plotting for the new term and working on some previously started projects. At least I’ll have a detention project to turn in for January…

Most of my attention this week has gone to Mr.Me’s Christmas socks. Not finished, but hopefully they will be by this weekend. So I’m close, right? And I think I more than covered my gifting obligations with the Bacon of the Month subscription I gave him. Socks seem rather lame since then… But here’s the progress just the same. The picture’s not great, I’m playing with a new lens for my big girl camera and its still kind of hit or miss whether  I can make it work or not! It’s my first prime lens so the learning curve is pretty high but I’ll keep trying!

So after all that rambling, here’s the list

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern) (Planned knitting for my Winter term OWL)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12 FINALLY
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, first sock is done, I’m about a third of the way through the leg on the second
  6. Jaywalker
  7. Helen Socks
  8. Hoot & A Half (Planned knitting for my Winter term OWL)
  9. Lenore (Planned knitting for my Winter term OWL)
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. Marlinda (Planned knitting for my Winter term OWL) 
  12. TBD

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink (Formerly Emma’s Chemise)
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge – Cast on 11/23/12, I’m still stalled out on this but I expect to make progress later this week when Mr.Me’s Christmas socks are finished. This should be my January Detention turn in
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish HatJoey (OoG) Cast on 12/4/12, Finished 12/7/12
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI haven’t worked on this since Homework in November but it’ll grow before the YOP year is out
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12
  7. Modified Turn a Square Cast on 12/1/12 Finished 12/2/12
  8. Cabled Square Hat Cast on 12/2/12, Finished 12/3/12

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 46

OTN 2/16

Completed 30/46

2 responses to “YOP 12/26/12

  1. Wow, not so many projects left on that list now!

  2. I hope you had a lovely Christmas, and I think the tree looks great, it’s so sweet that you have your grandparent’s decorations, what an amazing family heirloom to hang up. The socks look lovelty, and I think they’re a much better gift than bacon of the month (and i wouldn’t say no to that either!)

Leave a Reply

