YOP 12/30/12- The New Year’s Edition!

There was just no way I was going to let another Sunday go by without a proper update, especially since it’s the end of the year, middle of the YOP year and a good time to take stock in my list, the progress that’s been made, the stuff that just isn’t going to happen, make a few changes, whatever seems right as we hit the gas and head for 2013.  (I totally had to fix that. It is going to take me a couple months to get used to typing 2013. And about the time I do I will throw in a random 1998 for a nice WTF moment. Happens every year).

Looking at my list, I think I’d have to say the thing that surprises me the most is my sock progress.  I am still not quite used to not being primarily a sock knitter. One pair per month was an easy average, but you’ll note I’ve only completed four pair in 6 months time. And two of those have been finished in December! This is just odd.  I don’t think I’ve taken this long to finish socks since I started knitting them! Of course I expect a slight bump in production since I will be knitting four pair minimum between January and March. With the Deranged Dad Socks in time out, this will bring me to 9 pair touched in 9 months time which is more what I was expecting, but I absolutely thought this would be the “given” and I’d struggle to finish other things. I finally filled out the list with 12 actual patterns but I won’t lie, I see at least one or 2 of those remaining on the list (Jaywalker and Hoot & A Half, I’m lookin’ at you) being replaced with other patterns before the end of June, but this doesn’t come as any big surprise.  What sounds like a good idea today might be completely boring by the time I’m ready to knit something new next week. I’m just hoping that I will gain sufficient motivation from the four fabulous skeins of Indigodragonfly yarn I’ve chosen for my OWL project to get through those without changing anything around.

The hats and scarves portions of my list are the next big surprises. As in I can’t believe I’ve knocked out everything (or almost everything) that was on the original list. These are not things I’d have considered “common” knits for me so to have knit 6 of the 7 hats (with the last one planned for January) I started with and two more that I’ve added (oh and a third about to come), I’m kinda saying WOW here. The scarves and shawls are equally surprising. There’s been a good lot of flexibility in that list, I think it’s grown some since the beginning, too, with one on the needles and one left to start, I’m happy with progress here, too.

The sweater list is something of a dilemma…  This is the area where I seem to be wanting to make the most changes. Because every time I turn around I am finding another fabulous pattern or yarn I want to turn into something wonderful and cozy to wear. Never mind that my office hovers somewhere near the “Gates of Hell” setting on the thermostat, I want to knit all the sweaters. But I’m always hesitant to cast one one because they take a lot of time. And that cuts into how much I can finish for homework for the HPKCHC. Which, you may have noticed, has added a substantial number of “additions” to my crazy-seeming list of 34 that’s grown now to 47 and shows no signs of slowing down.  But hey, I’m half way through my first year of participation in the Come Blog Along project an I’ve finished almost as many projects as I had on my list to begin with. That ain’t half bad! And I’ve used over 10 miles of yarn in the process. Which is just plain fun! Admittedly, I’ve bought even more than I’ve knit and that’s without accounting for the spinning so maybe I need to focus on using more than I buy in 2013, but I won’t set any stake in actually pulling that off. Yarn therapy is a good thing in my world. As long as their’s food on my table, gas in the car and a roof over my head, adding to the stash isn’t harming anyone, right?

So, now for the official tallies:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern) (No longer planned knitting for my OWL because they didn’t fit into my Doctor Who theme)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12 FINALLY
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, finished 12/27/12. I would definitely knit this pattern again. Only next time I’ll actually read the pattern and not make it more complicated
  6. Jaywalker (still lovely but in danger of being replaced)
  7. Helen Socks (Being knit in Indigodragonfly MN Sock, Nice to Meet You Rose, Run For Your Life as part of my Winter OWL)
  8. Hoot & A Half (Owls are looking like an endangered species right now but we’ll see. I still love socks with googly eyes so they may get a late entry in the YOP or they may be replaced with something I want to knit when I finish my OWL)
  9. Lenore (Being knit in Indigodragonfly MCS Sock, TARDIS colorway for my Winter OWL) Cast on 12/29 as a swatch
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. Terpander (Being knit in Indigodragonfly MCN in Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey Spacey Wacey Stuff colorway for my Winter OWL)
  12. Staked (Being knit in Indigodragonfly MCS in Don’t Blink for my Winter OWL. They may also become my first top down socks in 2+ years)

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink (Formerly Emma’s Chemise)
  4. Elphaba the sequel (This may end up on the needles in February as an Order of the Phoenix mission entrant)

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge – Cast on 11/23/12, I’m still stalled out on this but I expect to make progress later this week when Mr.Me’s Christmas socks are finished. This should be my January Detention turn in
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG) Cast on 12/4/12, Finished 12/7/12
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG) (Planned homework knitting for January)
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12
  9. Scatness Tam  The yarn is dyed and waiting for January 1 when the new term starts!

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI The blanket square size requirement has been eliminated for the Winter House Cup Term so I may get some progress for easy coursework turn ins…
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12
  7. Modified Turn a Square Cast on 12/1/12 Finished 12/2/12
  8. Cabled Square Hat Cast on 12/2/12, Finished 12/3/12

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 47

OTN 4/16

Completed 31/47

10 responses to “YOP 12/30/12- The New Year’s Edition!

  1. It’s interesting how many changes we go through during YOP. It makes me a little bit more introspective about the projects I choose at different times and why. You’ve made some great progress in the first half! Best wishes for a wonderful 2013.

  2. Nope, stash enhancement is a pretty harmless hobby as long as the bills are being paid. In fact, it could even be seen as an “investment”.

    You’ve done awesome. I fall in love with sweater patterns all the time, but I’ve never been entirely happy with any sweater I’ve knit. I’m thinking that I just need to keeping bashing away at until I get good at it, so maybe next year I’ll try another sweater or two 🙂

  3. I think you have really done awesome for the first half of YOP. I really wish I could whip out socks. I’ve only made 1 pair and am working up to casting on a second pair. I suppose I’m still novice enough for socks to scare the bejeezus outta me 🙂

  4. My list was so generic, I’ve not really changed it this time round…well, maybe a little, lol. Congrats on all your accomplishments.

  5. Awesome job–and the list changing thing? Happens to me all the time, along with most of the others in this crazy, fun group, whether they admit it or not! 😉 Your post made me chuckle at the 1998 thing, as I totally do that sometimes! And, my office is the opposite of yours-the temp hovers around those you would see at the North Pole as I sit at a front desk in a clinic and the door opening and opening and opening, you know, to let patients actually arrive for their appointments, keeps up freezing.
    Happy New Years–
    *smiles*

  6. Stash is a necessity of life..right up there with air, food, water.. Happy New Year..

  7. I laugh every single time at “deranged dad socks”, it will be a sad day in my blog-reading world when you finish them.
    Your Tyr Chonail was one of the stand out projects for me this year, along with Tinks Peerie Floors. Although there’s a big crowd of other projects yelling “Me too!” as I type that. Really looking forward to seeing what you make in 2013. And that sock tally sounds pretty good to me…. Happy New Year!

  8. Pingback: Hope for the New Year « The Secret World of S.

  9. Wow, you’ve done fantastically so far, I’m really impressed! That is amazing amounts of knitting! And Happy New Year!

  10. Your list is looking great! Good job with the socks, I have two pairs waiting for their mate. It can never hurt to have more yarn!

Leave a Reply

