YOP 1/6/13

Nothing like the turning over of the calendar to give you new perspective on the knitting, right?  This was a good week.  As the real world resumed a normal pace (which is to say utterly frantic for two days followed by a relaxing 3 day weekend) the knitting world took shape for me.

The Winter term for the Harry Potter Knit & Crochet House Cup officially opened on Tuesday and I’ve already tuned in 2 projects with a third ready to go and a fourth on the needles. Not bad for 6 days work, right? As happened last term, it didn’t take very long for my list of projects to go once I read the class prompts. I am still planning to do more spinning for class homework since it’s great for earning bonus points, but so far everything I’ve turned in and have ready to go is knitting- finished Jagged Edg (detention), knit a blanket square (which I didn’t add to the list… Think I should?) to send off to one of my nest mates for a little baby snake in the making, completed a pair of shark mittens (photos on Friday, I promise. Cuz when I wore them to dinner last night they got all kinds of rave reviews. They are full of win) and a fish hat should be ready to turn in either today or tomorrow. Then I’m finally going to cast on my Scatness Tam with my home-spun and dyed yarn.  I have been absolutely itching to cast this on for a couple of weeks now but I decided it would be better to get the last fish hat out of the way before I get back to my favorite kind of knitting…  SELFISH knitting!

So, now for the official tallies:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) (Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, finished 12/27/12.
  6. Jaywalker (still lovely but in danger of being replaced)
  7. Helen Socks Cast on 12/29/12
  8. Hoot & A Half Still haven’t decided if this one’s staying put or going to make way for a different pattern
  9. Lenore  Cast on 12/29 as a swatch
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. Terpander Cast on 12/29/12
  12. Staked  Cast on 12/30/12

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink (Formerly Emma’s Chemise)
  4. Elphaba the sequel (This may end up on the needles in February as an Order of the Phoenix mission entrant)

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge – Cast on 11/23/12, Finished 1/4/13 Finally finished! This one nearly did me in! It was a fun knit but at the end it just seemed to go on forever! But it’s done, blocked and turned in for January Detention points! 
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG) Cast on 12/4/12, Finished 12/7/12
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG) Made some serious progress on this watching the Packer game Saturday night. Should be finished by days end but I didn’t want to wait to find out before I posted! Cast on 1/5/13
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12
  9. Scatness Tam  The shark mittens and fish hat came first but I hope to have this one in the needles later this week

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress to report
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12
  7. Modified Turn a Square Cast on 12/1/12 Finished 12/2/12
  8. Cabled Square Hat Cast on 12/2/12, Finished 12/3/12

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30
  5. Shark Mittens Cast on 1/4/13, Finished 1/5/13quick knit for a Quidditch project- my submission for the Hogsmead team- the Hogsmead Horn Sharks.  The final Fish hat on my Giftmas list is coordinating with this one for a Flying turn in this week.

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 48

OTN 5/16

Completed 32/48

12 responses to “YOP 1/6/13

  1. you’ve done so much! really impressive. can’t wait ’til pictures 🙂

  2. You are a knitting machine!!!!! Your finishes are amazing!!

  3. Amazing! Love the shark mittens and I put them and the Irish hiking scarf and hat in my favs!

  4. Very impressive list. Can’t wait to see your home-spun and hand-dyed 🙂

  5. Did I really read that right, you spent time knitting something for a snake? Oh my, oh my, OH MY. I can’t even go through the snake house at the zoo, even under glass those reptiles give me the willies…no way in the world would I spend precious knitting time, and yarn on a snake. I’ve even got cold chills running up my back thinking about snakes….eeeek, Otherwise your list makes me tired, you’ve accomplished so much. Nicely done.

    • Oh… Sorry. That probably does need a bit of clarification outside of the Dungeon, doesn’t it? In the HPKCHC I’m in Slytherin House. The Slytherin mascot is a snake. We refer to ourselves as snakes and are subdivided into “nests” within the house so that everyone has a small group to help familiarize themselves with the game and what not. So when other Slytherins are expectin’ little ones, they are commonly referred to as baby snakes or snakelets! This term two of my nest-mates are expecting so I knitted a blanket square to go into a blanket for a human baby referred to as a baby snake!

      In all other ways I am with you. Snakes creep me right the F out and I have a hard time in the snake house at the zoo or even watching them on TV or in movies. ICK!

  6. Wow! Do you sleep? 🙂 i am all about selfish knitting right now–I can only handle so much gift knitting and I reached that threshold with my Christmas knitting. Have a super week!
    *smiles*

  7. LOL…I was thinking along the same lines as Sandy..my imagination ran a bit trying to figure out what a snake could need..!

  8. After Christmas is definitely the time for selfish knitting, I think you deserve it. And it is amazing seeing what you’ve achieved!

Leave a Reply

