YOP 1/13/13

It’s been an odd week knit-wise.  I’ve done a fair bit but maybe not as much as usual. Tuesday we had a bit of a kitty debacle to resolve that took a good bit of time away from knitting (one of the little one’s seems to have gotten one of Mr.Me’s pills. Poor thing couldn’t stop moving! Literally we figure it was at least 12-18 hours between when she ingested it and when we were able to get her to the vet. She’s recovering very well now!) and Thursday was my office Christmas party so no knitting went on that night.

Oh… Then there was the false start on my Scatness Tam. I cast it on, knit the brim lining and was just about to start the color work when I realized I twisted the cast on when I joined it to knit in the round. DERP! There was a pretty good chance I was going to frog it anyway as I think it’s going to do better on a size one that the 2s I started on the first time but still frustrating!

So the hat remains on hold but I’ve made good progress on 2 of my OWL socks. Yesterday I managed to turn the heel and start the leg on my first Lenore sock and I am trying to decide if I’m happy with the length on my first Staked sock or if I want to do one more repeat then I’ll be re-learning how to turn the heel on a top down sock.  In the mean time, I felt like some largely mindless knitting so I cast on the necklace that was the December Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club package.  Between a self-created Breaking Bad season 1 marathon and a Packer’s playoff game I’ve managed to finish it.  Today will either be start #2 on the Scatness Tam or a quick and dirty hat in my house colors for the Harry Potter Knit & Crochet House cup.  Then I get a short week since I decided I just don’t feel like working on my birthday so I should get a good lot of knitting time in on Thursday and Friday! Sounds like the perfect birthday to me!

Oh… And you may notice my list has grown again…  OOPS

So, now for the official tallies:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, finished 12/27/12.
  6. Jaywalker (still lovely but in danger of being replaced)
  7. Helen Socks Cast on 12/29/12
  8. Hoot & A Half Still haven’t decided if this one’s staying put or going to make way for a different pattern
  9. Lenore  Cast on 12/29 as a swatch
  10. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  11. Terpander Cast on 12/29/12
  12. Staked  Cast on 12/30/12

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink (Formerly Emma’s Chemise)
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge – Cast on 11/23/12, Finished 1/4/13
  4. Pogona
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG) Cast on 12/4/12, Finished 12/7/12
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG) Cast on 1/5/13, Finished 1/6/13
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12
  9. Scatness Tam  Take 2 will go on the needles sometime this week

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress to report
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12
  7. Modified Turn a Square Cast on 12/1/12 Finished 12/2/12
  8. Cabled Square Hat Cast on 12/2/12, Finished 12/3/12
  9. Slytherin House Colors Hat

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30
  5. Shark Mittens Cast on 1/4/13, Finished 1/5/13
  6. Come Together Cast on 1/11/13, Finished 1/12/13
  7. Merlia Scarf This is going to be part of my Winter Term Broom
  8. Ahoy Princess Beret The other part of my Broom

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 52

OTN 4/19

Completed 35/52

16 responses to “YOP 1/13/13

  1. That’s an impressive list of projects!

  2. I’m glad kitty is better…what a scare!

    • Thank you! Us, too! Still not sure she’s at 100% or if she will get to 100% (an adult dose of amphetamines for a 10lb cat is not so good… Poor thing) but luckily she wasn’t our most “normal” furry kid to begin with!

  3. You have to admit that its better to find twisted stitches WAY before starting color work. I would have cried if I had to take out colorwork LOL 🙂 Sounds like a good bit of progress and very glad your kitty is doing better!

    • I know. I know. But still, it annoys me! I swear I triple checked this one and STILL I borked it. I’m trying to not get too upset because I think I needed to go down another needle size anyway! Now I just need to wait for the needles to get here so I can start again.

  4. wow , busy week! Glad your kitty is doing better and Happy Birthday for Thursday or Friday!

  5. it was a week for growing the list all-around, wasn’t it? sounds like you’re having a blast knitting 🙂 glad the kitty is ok.

  6. I think a day off for your birthday is definitely in order. I was off for my birthday – went for lunch and to a play. And a bit of knitting 🙂

    • Mr.Me is on call this weekend and while we’d talked about going somewhere he never actually got ’round to switching with someone so I expect it’ll be a 4 day knitting marathon for me! Which does not make me sad. And I have lunch plans with a friend on Friday so that’s fun, too!

  7. Sounds like a busy week and whats another project or two lol.

  8. How do you do it all? I hope I get to the point where I can knit and watch t.v. else I will remain a “pokey” knitter! LOL! Those playoff games were exciting games to watch!

  9. I had a kitty bite a pill, but then she dropped it..it was morphine..ugh..she was fine, but needed benadryl, seems she was allergic to narcotics..*frowns* about the packers..the list is impressive, LOL!

  10. I’m glad the kitty is ok now, that must have been scary! And I think we’ve all twisted a cast on in the round at some point, it’s so frustrating. I’m looking forward to seeing your staked socks, I had loads of problems with the pattern, but that was probably just me being an idiot, and they’re one of my favourite pairs of socks now.

Leave a Reply

