Ten Days

HOLY CRAP YOU GUYS! I have ten days until we leave for Gettysburg and I haven’t the slightest idea what I’m taking for knitting yet!  This is cause for a full on muppetflail!

Seriously. I don’t know how I let this happen.  You might recall last fall’s trip to the Battle of Antietam and all the knitting planning that went into making the trip possible.  If not, you can read all about it here.  The thing is, I typically spend FAR more time fretting about the knitting I need to pack than I do about anything else. I figure where ever I’m going, I can buy anything I forget once I get there but this isn’t always true for knitting.  Frankly, it’s not OFTEN true for knitting.  Sometimes I can get yarn, sometimes I can get needles, seldom do both magically appear, especially with reenacting.  So this is kind of a major crisis!  And by kind of I mean OMGTHEWORLDISCOMINGTOANENDZOMBIESAREGOINGTOEATMYBRAINS!

So HELP. I need ideas.  I have a plain vanilla sock in progress so I’m OK for in the dark and potential touring knitting. But I need in camp knitting and when it’s light out in the truck knitting.  In camp knitting needs to happen on wooden straights (UGH) or steel DPNs. I have mostly smaller sizes of wooden needles, 3-7 I think, maybe 8 also. I have DPNs in a gaggle of sizes so that shouldn’t be too hard to come up with something, but I have no ideas… UGH! How did I let this happen? Mp wonder I feel like the world is spinning out of control! I HAVE NO KNITTING PLANS!

Also, the new Year of Projects kicks off in 8 days and I have  no list.  NO.LIST.PEOPLE! ACK!  But I think, under the circumstances, it might be best to save that muppetflail for another post.

2 responses to “Ten Days

  1. Kermit is having knit attack. Get that frog some needles and yarn.

  2. First off, the Muppetflail made me laugh so much, so thanks for that. In terms of knitting I don’t no for sure what your restrictions are in terms of being at the camp, but I would think maybe a hat or two might be a quick and easy project to take along, something that has some lace or cabling might be enough to keep you busy but not so much to distract you? The other option that might be worth it is a shawl, which might take up less space, since lace weight yarn tends to come in higher yardages in somewhat smaller hanks? Whatever you ended up deciding I am sure it will be fun. I think it is so awesome that you two go to events like this. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures “in time travel.”

Leave a Reply

