You Know You’re a Knitter When…

Time for a combo-post today.  I would have done a Year of Projects update yesterday as Sunday’s the prescribed day for such things, but I was otherwise occupied… First Sunday turned out to be the day to do all the things this weekend. Breakfast at the bagel shop with a nice recap of last weekend’s film shoot (I should probably tell you about that, too, shouldn’t I? Not in this post, though), grocery shopping, cat food shopping (which should have happened conveniently in Cedarburg but it turned out it was Strawberry Festival weekend so yeah, no… Emergency reroute to Saukville STAT!) then home to make Mr.Me’s lunch cookies and a game time decision to make a double batch of Grandma’s Gingersnaps for Gettysburg, Mr.Me had to fix the washer (AGAIN) so I could crank out a couple of loads while furiously knitting the Circle Line Again Again in hopes of finishing it before heading up to BFF’s for dinner and a snuggle with the new baby whose sweater I was attempting to finish. All this within about a 4 hour window.  Can you say ambitious? But I made excellent progress…  First, Cookies!

I still can’t quite perfect them to be like Grandma used to make but they’re getting better.  I’ve got them packaged up and ready to hit the road next week. Figure since they’re small and pretty solid they should travel well as cookies go, and even if  they don’t, I should be feeding a willing crew anyway so I doubt they’ll go unappreciated.  And every time I make them I smile and recall hours spent with Grandma and find myself marveling at the patience she had for rolling these little spicy balls of cookie-love.  A double batch hardly scratches the surface of the number of ginger snaps Grandma made every Christmas. Turns out I wasn’t the only grandchild intensely fond of them- there was always a batch sent out to Idaho and another to Michigan for my cousins there, some to take to church for various holiday gatherings and more for home. I made 12 dozen and was ready to resort to a giant cookie blob by the end. I can’t imagine how Grandma felt by the end! OY

After the cookies were done it was time for the sweater.  This being my third version of the pattern in as many months you’d think it would happen on auto-pilot but you’d be wrong.  10 days ago I was at the half way point, ready to divide the sleeves from the body of the sweater and fly like the wind to the finish line. Only I was short on stitches. By a third. UGH! Turns out I missed an increase row back at the neckline of this top-down cardigan so I had to rip back. ALL the way back. All but 9 rows POOF, gone in an instant. But what’s a knitter to do, right? So I ripped back and started again – I’ll note that the fabulous skein of Sock-It yarn from Strand Yarn Works held up beautifully in the frogging and reknitting process.  I was a little concerned as the yarn seemed like the sort that might be extree  grabby but in the end, I couldn’t have asked for better. No knots, very little “kink” in what had been previously knit and it knit up again just as lovely as the first go around! But I digress…

Last weekend’s film shoot (there it is again. Random reference to intrigue the masses) resulted in a lot of knitting time for me. No seriously, A.LOT! I made it through most of the body by Monday night and finished that part by Quilty Night on Wednesday.  Sleeves were started and sleeves were finished. By Sunday afternoon the finish line was in sight- just the button bands and buttons plus a metric-butt-ton (it’s an official measurement, I swear) of ends to weave in. Weaving in of ends is not my favorite part of knitting but apparently somewhere along the line it was deemed socially inappropriate to let your ends waggle free so I must conform to social convention.  Certain of the ends required weaving before the button bands could be knit,  others could be saved till later so like all good knitters, I thought about it for about two and a half seconds before establishing that I could knit the button bands and sew on the buttons at home and furiously scramble to finish weaving in ends in the car on the way to BFFs house if necessary. Yes, there was that brief moment where my KDD kicked in, knew I had this licked with time to crank out a perfect little hat and matching mittens before getting in the car but even I’ve learned not to listen to that crazy voice, so I just set out to knit the bands.  And sew on the cutest buttons EVER.

And got in the car to do this

Cuz seriously, I’m pretty sure you can’t call yourself a Knitter if you haven’t been furiously scrambling to finish the gift on the way to the party, right? Admit it. You’ve done it too.

And also like a true Knitter, there needed to be a quick photo shoot of the finished object before giving it away because we all know there’s no hope of photos AFTER giving it away, so I plopped it on the dashboard and clicked away with my iPhone. Cuz that’s the most normal thing in the world, right?

And the most adorable buttons EVER

All so that the new baby could be met with a snuggly little sweater and all may be right with the world.

And, you may have guessed by the balls of yarn in my knitting bag, the next project could be cast on before the needles grew cold. Cuz that’s totally normal. Totally.

And all of this means one more item ticked off the short little list of projects for the year! YAY ME!  AND I’ve spent a few minutes working on the list for next year. DOUBLE yay!  That one requires a bit more attention, needing to review what’s left over from this year to decide if it’s being shoved forward to 2013-14 or if I’ve lost interest in the project for the time being. And what projects need to be added that have been discovered but NOT added to this year’s list (Yes, believe it or not, this year’s list is still a bit “short”. Or at least shorter than it could have been).  And I’m trying to get the 13-14 list ready to publish early because I’ll be in Gettysburg the first Sunday of the new list year. And working on it is helping me to shore up my plans for road trip knitting. Which is good cuz oh my Bob I have but a week left to get that packed. Knitting bag needs a clean out and restock, patterns need printing, needles need gathering. I cannot believe I’ve left this most important part to the last minute! ACK!

But again I digress, the 2nd last installment of the 12-13 Year of Projects list looks a bit like this:

Socks (1 pair per month is my goal)

  1. Deranged Dad Socks (f/k/a Argyles for Dad) Cast on 7/10/12, on hiatus as of 8/13/12
  2. Celtic Beaded Socks Completed 8/9/12
  3. Baldersquash (Smart Ass Knitter’s World Domination Club June 2012 pattern)
  4. Plain socks for dad (another Orgy of Greed gift) Cast on 9/10/12, Finished 11/18/12
  5. Masonic Lodge Cast on 11/18/12, finished 12/27/12.
  6. Helen Socks Cast on 12/29/12, Finished 3/10/13
  7. Hoot & A Half Still haven’t decided if this one’s staying put or going to make way for a different pattern
  8. Lenore  Cast on 12/29 , finished 2/11/12
  9. Winding Road Socks Cast on 8/16 Finished 9/9/12
  10. Terpander Cast on 12/29/12, Finished 3/25/13
  11. Staked  Cast on 12/30/12 Finished 2/1/13.
  12. Plain Jane Movie socks- From the amount of action these have seen I think they could officially be considered hibernating at this point, but they will be making the road trip so, thusly, feeling some love in the next 8-10 days. Sock #1 may just get finished yet!

Sweaters

  1. Insouciant
  2. Camden Place Cardigan Started 10/9/12, Finished 11/11/12
  3. Ink Cast on 3/25/12, Finished 5/16/13.
  4. Elphaba the sequel

Shawls, Scarves, etc

  1. Irish Hiking Scarf Cast on 7/28/12, Completed 7/31/12.
  2. Whipoorwhill– Cast on 9/15/12 Finished 11/20/12
  3. Jagged Edge – Cast on 11/23/12, Finished 1/4/13
  4. Shawl Test-Knit for one of my Harry Potter House Cup friends. To be cast on at the beginning of March (Formerly Pogona)- Cast on 3/1/13, Still napping
  5. Ruffle Scarf for April (OoG) Cast on 11/17/12, Finished 11/18/12
  6. Wingspan– Cast on 8/17/12 off 8/24/12
  7. Boneyard– Cast on 7/21/12, off 8/15/12
  8. Charlie Chevron Scarf– Cast on 9/12, Cast off 9/17
  9. Clapotis Cast on 7/8/12, off 7/25/12
  10. Ruffle Scarf for Janesa Cast on & Finished 11/18/12
  11. Semele Cast on 5/27/13 (again), my Order Mission for this term in the Harry Potter Knit & Crochet House Cup.  I was hoping to use it for a class in May so I started it on the 4th, then frogged it. Then started it, then frogged it, then started it, got almost up to the second section, borked it, frogged it, started it, well, I’m sure you can see where this is going , but at any rate, this last restart seems to have taken nicely. I’m on the 4th or 5th repeat, one more to go before an even section, then decreases.  I have learned the value of lifelines and counting my stitches at the end of every row which seems to be helping! I Might just end up with a shawllette afterall!

Headwear

  1. Dead Fish Hat– Joey (OoG) Cast on 12/4/12, Finished 12/7/12
  2. Dead Fish Hat Maddy (OoG) Cast on 1/5/13, Finished 1/6/13
  3. Dead Fish Hat Audra (OoG) Cast on 8/14/12, Off 8/17
  4. Dead Fish Hat Onna (OoG) Cast on 10/26/12, Finished 10/27/12
  5. Irish Hiking Hat for Scottie Cast on 7/31, Finished 8/1
  6. Turn A Square for Mr.Me (OoG) Cast on 11/12/12, Finished 11/13/12
  7. Turn A Square for James (OoG) cast AND finished on 11/11/12
  8. Space Princess Hat for Zig Cast on 11/15/12 Finished 11/17/12
  9. Scatness Tam  Cast on 1/18/13, Finished 1/26/13.
  10. Simple Bulky Hat– Cast on 5/28/13, Finished 6/1/13- Detention!

Just To Prove My Insanity

  1. EBI No progress to report
  2. Tir Chonaill cast on 8/24, Finished 10/1/12
  3. Ball Sack Cast on 7/12/12. Cast off 7/13/12
  4. Tir Chonaill Trivet– Cast on 9/19, Cast off 9/20
  5. Stocking Garters– Cast on 9/14, Finished 9/15
  6. Nerwin/Batmeanie Cast on 11/24/12, Finished 11/26/12
  7. Modified Turn a Square Cast on 12/1/12 Finished 12/2/12
  8. Cabled Square Hat Cast on 12/2/12, Finished 12/3/12
  9. Slytherin House Colors Hat Cast on 1/12/13, Finished 1/17/13

Harry Potter House Cup Projects

  1. Skull & Crossbones Dish Cloth Cast on 10/1/12, Finished 10/1/12
  2. Granny Square Dish Cloth Cast on 10/8/12, Finished 10/8/12
  3. Teeny Tiny Snowmen  Cast on 10/12/12, Finished 10/12/12
  4. Winter Hiking Hat Cast on 11/29, Finished 11/30
  5. Shark Mittens Cast on 1/4/13, Finished 1/5/13
  6. Come Together Cast on 1/11/13, Finished 1/12/13
  7. Wrought Iron Mitts– Cast on 1/23/13, Finished 1/27/13
  8. Merlia Scarf Cast on 1/27/13- napping. I love the scarf, no question, but I’m haivng a hard time working on something this specifically winter oriented right now. So it’s napping.
  9. Wrought Iron Mitts the redeux  (the red ones) cast on 2/1/13, Finished 2/3/13.
  10. Bella’s Mittens Casting on 2/17/13, Finished 2/23/13
  11. Cabled Slouch Hat, Cast on 2/9/13, Finished 2/10/13.  Love this one, too! It was knit using one of my first useable skeins
  12. Baby Bear Sweater Cast on 3/15/12, finished 3/20/13.
  13. Baby Bear hat– Cast on 3/20/13, finished 3/23/13
  14. Cabled Headband Cast on 2/8/13, Finished 2/9/13. This was ultimately a test knit for the alterations I’m going to make on the pattern for my Bella’s Mittens.
  15. Circle Line Cardigan for R & K– Cast on 5/18/13, Finished 5/26/13- Same pattern as Baby Bear’s sweater, this one is for a girl flavored baby so it’s being knit in all kinds of pinky goodness!
  16. Circle Line Cardigan Again Again– Cast on 6/9/13  Finished 6/22/13
  17. Parlor Cat– Knitting my Animagus for Transfiguration. And now that I’ve figured out my animagus, I can some day knit my Patronus for Defense Agasint The Dark Arts! WEEHOO- Cast on 6/22/13

Progress To Date:

Projects on the original list: 34

Projects on the list now: 63

OTN 5/11

Completed 52/63

9 responses to “You Know You’re a Knitter When…

  1. Wow, you manage to get a lot of knitting done! I’m very envious. the sweater looks lovely and i really like the contrast of the colours, and the buttons are cute. I am intrigued though, whats the film shoot? 😉

  2. Firstly ymmmm cookies…delicious and secondly pity about the sweater but I’m glad the yarn held up and of course everyone finishes the projects off on the way to party and snaps them just before giving, I do it all the time. I am never ever on time and if I am something is wrong lol. Looking forward to seeing what’s going to be on next years list.

  3. I aspire to be you someday. Serially.

  4. Wow, you’ve definitely gotten the better part of this list done! Love the buttons on your cute stripey sweater.

  5. I am always amazed by the volumes of knitting you get done! Do you knit continental style? And again, I’d probably knit more if I didn’t WASTE time on mah jong. Sorry, but it’s mesmerizing and I don’t have to think.

    BTW, I love that sweater. Was looking at patterns on Rav last night and saw several like this which appealed to me. I really like your color choices.

    • Nope, I’m a thrower. I can knit continental and will when doing colorwork but I am generally happier with my end result when knitting English.

  6. That little sweater is gorgeous! And I know I’ve been there in the car finishing the gift. I was embroidering eyes in the dark in a taxi on the way to a friend’s birthday meal, and surprisingly, the monkey didn’t look at all evil or cross eyed. Then took pictures of it on my phone in the restaurant!

  7. This post made me smile for so many reasons–the nostalgia of something Grandma baked with love, the cray knitting lady voice that you know we all hear at times too, the need to do a major knitting bag clean out before a trip, (something I just did last weekend), and quickly snapping photos before gifting an hand knit! Thanks for sharing with us….
    *smiles*

  8. Do homemade cookies last that long? That you can make them a week ahead? Sweater is adorable. I have finished an item or two in route to somewhere, but haven’t done that lately. When did you wash and block it? Or did you feel that pattern didn’t really need to be blocked? Curious…is that a bottle of red hot sauce with you in the car? LOL, seriously it’s the first thing I thought of when I saw the bottle. Here I am thinking we’re all posting our last 2013 YOP and I can’t even add my link to the forum, the threads apparently locked….errrr. Today’s the end of the month, so I thought this was the end, not the beginning. Confused again.

Leave a Reply

