It’s TECHNICALLY a WIP, right?

For the last, oh, I dunno, 8 months or so, I’ve been spinning a pile of yarn .

Wait, let me narrow that down some. I’ve been spinning a SPECIFIC pile of yarn.  This one:

Which has 6 little friends. That I don’t seem to have a picture of. But is that part important to our little story, kinda.

So I’ve been spinning this yarn with a purpose.  To knit Ursula. Cuz we all know I have a fangirl crush on designer Kate Davies. So when I got her book Colours of Shetland around Christmas time last year, it didn’t take a genius to figure out I’d need to knit many things from it.  Ursula spoke to me. And I’d just recently gotten my stash of fluff from the processors and LOVE spinning my friend Toby.  So all pieces fell together and I decided I would knit the sweater from yarn I’ve spun myself from the fleece of Toby the Shetland.

And it’s taken me most of 9 months to spin.  With, obviously, a LOT of breaks to spin all the other things in between, but finally, I think I’ve got enough. Or at least close to enough.  So last weekend I went about dying three of my precious skeins of hand spun 2 ply Shetland into the 3 contrast colors I need for the sweater. Green, Navy and Cranberry against the natural gray background.  I got Navy. I got Cranberry. And I got definitely NOT green. But I decided to give it a whirl and whipped up a quick gauge tube. It’s not a swatch yet as I need to steek it and give it a bath to get a true measurement, but here lies the progress:

The swatch is not quite the color order I expect for the finished sweater, but I was concerned about the contrast between the Navy and Not-Green yarns so I wanted to make sure they’d work.  And I think they do.  So while it’s technically not the project, I’m calling it a WIP because it’s the next step in the bigger picture.  What say you?

7 responses to “It’s TECHNICALLY a WIP, right?

  1. Girl, I think you are Awesome!! Wow! How many people can say they spun the wool for the sweater they’re wearing? Since there are 3 Million + members of Ravery, I’d say that’s a small percentage. And I like the colors and the way you’ve combined them. Can’t wait to see the progress and the FO!!

    • Thank you! I have to admit the nerve factor is still pretty high right now but so is the excitement level! I have a couple of hats and mittens I’ve made from my own yarn but this will be the biggest leap of faith so far!

  2. oh I would call it a wip. I have just learned to spin and don’t consider it finished until I make something out of the yarn. I am in awe of you spinning such beautiful even yarn. I wonder how many years it will take me to learn to make such gorgeous yarn.

  3. Totally a WIP! Can’t wait to finish my own current spinning project. You have inspired me!

  4. So, does the “definitely Not Green” have another name for its colorway? 😉
    I like the WIP. Yes, it qualifies.

    • I’m just going with Not Green. It works for me! I wonder if I could repeat it though, because I actually really love the way it turned out, it just isn’t, well, green like I’d expected!

Leave a Reply

