Lets Talk Spindles

I was introduced to the wide world of spinning a number of years ago by way of the drop spindle.  A friend of ours made several and used them to teach spinning. Which is really to say fish them in, or maybe that was just me.  But anyway, I spent a Saturday in a park learning to create clunky, thick thin crazy sorta yarn that wasn’t particularly pretty or even useful.  And I learned why the call it a drop spindle.  If ever you’ve used one you know what I mean.  And if you haven’t, well, try it sometime and you’ll figure it out in a hurry.   And of course a seed was planted.

Several years and several attempts to convince myself I didn’t have room for a spinning wheel (stop laughing) one last weekend of trying to spin with the less than perfect spindles I made myself I decided to take the leap to the wheel and thought I’d never look back.  I knew to appreciate the spindle for what it taught me before I went to a wheel.  The transition was easier for knowing how to draft and having a general idea of what the finished product would be.

So then last summer facing another long weekend far far away without my wheel to keep me busy at a reenactment, I caved to peer pressure and bought a spindle.  Get a GOOD one, she said. THIS kind she pushed. If you don’t love it I’ll buy it from you, she promised.  So I caved.  And I bought my first big girl spindle from Houndesign Darvish

And I decided spindles might not be so bad.  Because it turns out that the knowledge I gained on the wheel made transitioning to a spindle a snap! And while it will never be as efficient as spinning on a wheel sometimes it’s relaxing and, well, different, which is nice.  So then this happened

That one’s a Spindlewood square in purple heart.  Turns out I have a real weakness for purple heart…  And the square is a beautiful spinner, too, and a completely different feel to the first big girl spindle.  Which may have lead to a spindle for my In Case of Emergency Jar in my office. A Kundert this time.  Amazingly handy to have an emergency spindle and fiber stash at my desk. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it sooner

And I may have added an Ann Grout turnip which I don’t have a picture of but you can see here.  It’s my first supported (like how I say first.  I bet you can guess what that means) and it’s really sort of fun if not a bit tricksy with cats.

And then there’s the Turkish from Subterranean Woodworks that is so so pretty. And addictive.  The photos shamelessly stolen from my Etsy receipt because I never managed to take one but I do love this little guy

So much that I’ve ordered another Turkish from Jeri Brock Woodwoorks…  Custom.  With canons carved in the arms. I can’t wait to see what she does with that!  And while I wait I find myself scouring the Ravelry boards looking for destashes.  I want a Golding.  And maybe a…  I dunno, but I’m sure something will catch my eye.  Because much like spinning wheels, it turns out spindles breed like bunnies.  And I’m totally OK with that.

 

One response to “Lets Talk Spindles

  1. spindles do have a way of breeding, don’t they? Glad to see you back in blogland… good luck with the mountain of work!

Leave a Reply

